About Southern Maryland

Southern Maryland is composed of the counties on the Western Shore of the Chesapeake Bay including Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties. The region is home to the first colonial settlement in Maryland, St. Mary’s City.

Southern Maryland is home to several wineries, championship golf courses, the largest Blue Heron rookery on the East Coast, great seafood, Civil War sites, and an endless supply of water activities on the Chesapeake.

Explore Southern Maryland

Calvert County Maryland

Calvert County

With abundant waterways, unique shops and museums, excellent restaurants, natural parks and a calendar filled with interesting festivals and activities, Calvert County has earned its…

Charles County Maryland

Charles County

Welcome to Charles County in Southern Maryland, home to a wealth of natural, cultural and historic treasures, diverse natural landscapes, and scenic views of the Potomac. Located just…

St. Mary

St. Mary’s County

Maryland’s oldest county, St. Mary’s has been welcoming visitors since 1634! Shaped by the Chesapeake Bay and its mighty tributaries, the Patuxent and Potomac Rivers, the verdant…